Top 5 films starring Jim Carrey

It’s official that ‘Dumb and Dumber To’ is filming for release in 2014 so I thought it would be a good idea to roll back in his film history to discover his top five! I have to add that choosing from Jim Carrey’s best flicks was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do!

5) Fun with Dick and Jane (2005)

Dick and Jane are living a peaceful life until Dick (Jim Carrey) loses his job after receiving an important promotion that caused his wife to leave her job. There is no money and the house is in foreclosure

DICKANDJANE

This hilarious family flick is full of non stop laughter moments and heart warming lines. Jim Carrey is outstanding as the wannabe awesome father and husband and his behavior on screen is … unique.

Jane Harper: We might be in a little bit of a pickle, dick.

4) The Mask (1994)

A simple Bank Clerk with a totally normal life is transformed into a maniac super-hero with limited self control when he wears a mysterious green mask.

THEMASK

A hilarious film with an overflow of memorable scenes that will go down in film history. Jim Carrey pulls this role off with such intensity, insanity and stupidity. There is no one else capable of putting on such an incredible performance quite like Carrey.

Mask: Hold on, Sugar! Daddy’s got a sweet tooth tonight!

 3) Liar Liar (1997)

A lawyer with a steady career and a slowly disappearing family can’t lie for exactly 24 hours due to a small birthday wish at his son’s birthday party. He’s unprepared, unreliable and undesirable, but he’s desperate to set things straight and to win back his family while he’s at it.

LIARLIAR

There are so many laugh-out-loud moments throughout the film and its easily a movie I can watch anytime, any day. Jim Carrey is so bubbly and expressive, especially when the wish is granted and he can’t control himself. This film is definitely on my favorites list!

Fletcher: Here goes: I sped. I followed too closely. I ran a stop sign. I almost hit a Chevy. I sped some more. I failed to yield at a crosswalk. I changed lanes at the intersection. I changed lanes without signaling while running a red light and *speeding*!

Cop: Is that all?

Fletcher: No … I have unpaid parking tickets.

 

 2) Ace Ventura: Pet Detective (1994)

A goofy detective who specializes in the treatment and care of animals goes in the search of a mascot dolphin who mysteriously disappears right before the teams big play-off at the Super Bowl. Ace must pile the clues together to figure out the culprit, and prove himself to the Police Department.

 ACEVENTURA

Jim Carrey puts on quite an extraordinary performance as Ace Ventura, the funny detective dedicated to the protection of animals. His love and respect for animals brings many puns to the film and constantly keeps the audience guessing.

Ace Ventura: If I’m not back in five minutes … just wait longer.

1) Dumb and Dumber (1994)

The long, cross-country adventures of two good hearted yet incredibly stupid best friends. They catch themselves in situations that only they themselves can weaver out of.

 DUMBANDDUMBER

I’ve seen this movie a good thousand times. Everything about this movie is so hilarious, laugh-out-loud funny and outrageous! It’s everything you love about comedy mashed together. Jim Carrey alongside Jeff Daniels are a perfect pair that steal the spotlight and bring this movie it’s fantastic history. Watch out for the sequel ‘Dumb and Dumber To’ where the magical pair will reunite.

Harry: Just when I thought you couldn’t possibly be any dumber, you go and do something like this … and totally redeem yourself!

JIM CARREY! THANK YOU FOR SO MANY LAUGHS!

JC

 

3 thoughts on “Top 5 films starring Jim Carrey

    • Funnily enough I started watching The Truman Show and I got so bored I stopped watching. Hopefully someday I’ll try to get through the whole film and who knows? Maybe I’ll enjoy it 🙂
      Dumb and Dumber is hilarious! I honestly found it incredibly difficult to choose my favourite considering Jim Carrey’s movies are all golden 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

